The shortlist for the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize was announced last Thursday. The shortlist was chosen by an independent judging panel and was revealed at a Launch event, hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens.

The 2018 Awards Show will take place on Thursday 20 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.The event will feature live performances from many of the shortlisted artists and the evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize for “Album of the Year”.

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
Everything Everything – ‘A Fever Dream
Everything is Recorded – ‘Everything is Recorded
Florence + The Machine – ‘High as Hope
Jorja Smith – ‘Lost & Found
King Krule – ‘The Ooz
Lily Allen – ‘No Shame
Nadine Shah – ‘Holiday Destination
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – ‘Who Built the Moon?
Novelist – ‘Novelist Guy
Sons of Kemet – ‘Your Queen is a Reptile
Wolf Alice – ‘Visions of a Life

Clicking on the link takes you to the album on Spotify.

What’s your fave?

“This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize celebrates albums by musicians at all stages of their careers, but with a shared belief in the importance of music for navigating life’s challenges – whether personal or political, falling in or out of love, growing up or looking back, angry or ecstatic. The music here is funny and inspiring, smart and moving. Twelve amazing albums!”